Mme France Marquet, Trustee MSF attended 14 C Intergovernmental Committee for Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage

News Bogota, Colombia - 14th December 2019

Date: 9-14, December, 2019

Fourteenth session of the Committee

This year, the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage met in Bogota, Colombia from 9 to 14 December. The gathering at the Agora Bogotá Centro de convenciones 'first time Committee' met in Latin America and the Caribbean. Ms María Claudia Lopez Sorzano, Secretary of Culture, Recreation and Sports of the city of Bogotá, chaired this fourteenth session.

In the course of six days, the twenty four members of the Intergovernmental Committee took stock of recent developments in the implementation of the 2003 Convention and make important decisions about its implementation.

For example, the Committee considered guidelines on how to best safeguard living heritage in emergency situations and continued its reflection on how to improve the participation of non-governmental organizations in the implementation of the Convention. An update regarding the reform of the periodic reporting mechanism to be launched in 2020 in the Latin American and the Caribbean is also included on the Committee’s agenda. Moreover, Committee members examined the status of elements inscribed on the Urgent Safeguarding List and on the use of International Assistance granted to States for supporting their efforts of safeguarding living heritage.

As is the case every year, the Committee considered elements for inscription on the Lists of the Convention. Six elements for inscription on the List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding and forty-two on the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity examined as well as three proposals for selection on the Register of Good Safeguarding Practices. Three International Assistance requests were also be tabled for the Committee’s consideration.

Fourteenth session of the Committee
Mme France Marquet, Principal Trustee, MSF and SAF Representative to UNESCO at Fourteenth Session of the Committee

Fourteenth session of the Committee
Left to Right :- Ms Magdalena Tovonik , Slovenia; Mr Alejandro Camacho, Mexico; Mme France Marquet, Principal Trustee MSF; Ms Audrey Azoulay, Director General of UNESCO ; Mr Philippe Beaussant, Vice President, Lisaon Committee UNESCO NGOs; & Mr Jose Carlos Vilcapoma, Peru;

Source: UNESCO