In recognition of its objectives for regional development and cooperation, the Twenty-Seventh Session of the Council of Ministers  (Dhaka, 1st-2nd August 2006) has granted SAARC Apex Body (View Certificate) status to the South Asia Foundation. This was renewed on 8th December 2011 for another Five Years ( Click here )

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established when its Charter was formally adopted on 8th December 1985 by the Heads of State or Government of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, and the Headquarters of SAARC Secretariat are in Kathmandu, Nepal.

SAARC provides a platform for the peoples of South Asia to work together in a spirit of friendship, trust and understanding. It aims to accelerate the process of economic and social development in Member States. (
Charter of SAARC

SAF as Apex body


Conference New Delhi, India - 22nd November 2002

SAF-UNESCO Regional Conference for the SAARC Countries on Youth