UNESCO Madanjeet Prize


Madanjeet Singh

was created in 1995 to mark the United Nations Year for Tolerance, proclaimed at the initiative of UNESCO, and the 125th anniversary of the birth of the Mahatma Gandhi.

In recognition of a lifelong devotion to communal harmony and peace, the Prize bears the name of its benefacto Madanjeet Singh, who was a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador, Indian artist, writer and diplomat. Objective

The UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence is aimed at advancing the spirit of tolerance in the arts, culture, education, science and communication.

Who can win the Prize?
The UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence is awarded to persons, institutions or organizations that have distinguished themselves through particularly remarkable initiatives extending over several years to promote the understanding and resolution of international or national problems in a spirit of tolerance and non-violence.

Who can submit Nominations?
Nominations can be presented by governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as by nongovernmental organizations and foundations maintaining official relations with UNESCO and active in a field covered by the Prize. Former Laureates of the Prize, qualified eminent personalities, as well as any suitable person or civil society organization working for the advancement of a culture of peace, human rights, non-violence and tolerance in the world also may nominate candidates worthy of receiving this outstanding international distinction.

How are nominations submitted?
Nominations for the Prize should be submitted no later than
1 March of the year of the award of the Prize, by filling out the nomination form in either English or French, by post (the original form) and, if possible, by e-mail (advanced copy). Each candidate’s nomination must be established on the  elevant form and must include an explanation of the choice on the basis of the goals and objectives clearly defined in the Statutes of the Prize. A standard form - available in English and French – is prepared by the Secretariat of the Prize, for each biennial award.

Additional materials (publications, video, audio and other teaching materials, etc.) may be attached to the nomination form.

Who designates Laureates?
The prize-winners are chosen by the Director-General of UNESCO, following the proposal of an International Jury composed of three independent experts, of different nationalities and gender, having an internationally recognized reputation in the field of peace, human rights, tolerance and non-violence.
The recommendation of the International Jury is based on its appreciation of the relevant initiatives and contributions, according to the criteria laid down in Article 3 of the Statutes.

How the Prize is awarded?
The Prize is awarded every two years in an even year of UNESCO’s programme cycle. The Prize is awarded during an official ceremony held at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris on the occasion of International Day for Tolerance, 16 November. The prizewinner is presented with a check for the amount of the Prize and a Diploma. The US $100,000 Prize may be divided equally between two laureates whose actions are considered to be of equal merit.

Eligibility :

The Director-General of UNESCO has nominated Ms Golda El Khoury of the Division of Human Rights, Philosophy and Democracy as secretary of the UNESCO Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence.

UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence
Social and Human Sciences Sector
1 rue Miollis
75732 Paris Cedex 15
Tel: +33 1 45683817/60
Fax: +33 1 45685726
E-mail: tolerance.prize@unesco.org


List of Laureates of UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence

Year Laureates Country Read More
2016 The Federal Research and Methodological Center for Tolerance, Psychology and
Education (Tolerance Center) of the Russian Federation
Russia  More Information
 2014 i) Mr Ibrahim Ag Idbaltanat  Mali More Information
  ii) Mr Francisco Javier Estévez Valencia  Chile More Information
 2011 i) Ms Anarkali Honaryar   Afghanistan More Information
  ii) Mr Khaled Abu Awwad  Palestine More Information
 2009 i)  Mr François Houtart  Belgium More Information
  ii) Mr Abdul Sattar Edhi  Pakistan More Information
2006 Veerasingham Anandasangaree Sri Lanka More Information
2004 Ms Taslima Nasreen, Writer  Bangladesh  More Information
2002  Ms Aung San Suu Kyi
                           Prize funded by Madanjeet Singh is amended and upgraded to $ 100,000.
Myanmar More Information
2000  Pope Shenouda III (1923-2012) The Head of Egypt’s Coptic Orthodox Church  Egypt More Information
1998 i) Mr. Narayan Desai India More Information
  ii) Ms. Shah Taj Qizilbash Pakistan More Information
1996  Association of 32 Non-Governmental Women’s Organizations
“Pro-Femmes Twese Hamwe” of Rwanda
Rwanda More Information
1995 At its 146th session, unanimously adopted the decision to establish the "UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize   More Information


“It is essential for international harmony that individuals, communities and nations accept and respect the multicultural character of the human family. Without tolerance there can be no peace, and without peace there can be no development or democracy.” “In order to generate public awareness, emphasize the dangers of intolerance and react with renewed commitment and action in support of tolerance promotion and education, we solemnly proclaim 16 November the annual International Day for Tolerance.”

DECLARATION OF PRINCIPLES ON TOLERANCE, adopted on 16 November 1985 at the twenty-eighth session of the UNESCO General Conference

Prize funded by Madanjeet Singh is amended and upgraded to
$ 100,000.

News UNESCO Headquater, Paris - 23rd May 2018

Mme. France Marquet, SAF Representative to UNESCO, attended World Day for Cultural Diversity, Dialogue and Development

UNESCO celebrated World Day for Cultural Diversity, Dialogue and Development on 21 May, and this year’s 70th anniversary of the Declaration of Human Rights, with a panel debate on ways to ensure everyone’s right to access culture....

News UNUNESCO Headquarters, Paris, France - 22nd May 2018

Pondicherry University Vice Chancellor & his team with Ms Frace Marquet visited UNESCO Headquarters

News UNESCO Headquater, Paris - 14th May 2018

Dr. Nischal Nath Pandey, Chairperson, SAF - Nepal met Ms. Maria Rosa Cardenas Tomazic

Dr. Nischal Nath Pandey, Chairperson, SAF - Nepal visited UNESCO Headquarters at Paris and met Ms. Maria Rosa Cardenas Tomazic regarding Man and Biosphere program to be set up in Nepal.

News UNESCO Headquater, France - 1st May 2018

UNESCO will lead the 25th celebration of World Press Freedom Day & the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano Prize

In 2018, UNESCO will lead the 25th celebration of World Press Freedom Day. The main event, jointly organized by UNESCO and the Government of the Republic of Ghana, will take place in Accra, Ghana on 2 – 3 May. This year’s global theme is ‘Keeping Power in Check: Media, Justice and The Rule of Law’, and will cover issues of media and the transparency of the political process, the independence and media literacy of the judicial system...

News UNESCO Headquaters, France - 1st May 2018

Applications open for UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2018

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.